Alabama Symphony Orchestra presents Tchaikovsky’s Pathetique Symphony Masterworks


Program to Include
Sergei Prokofiev: American Overture, Op. 42b
Dimitri Shostakovich: Cello Concerto #1
Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky: Symphony #6, Pathetique*

Tchaikovsky is said to have “put his entire soul” into his final symphony and the resulting somber and sighing music gives the listener a rare glimpse into the life of a complex man struggling with his identity. Santiago Cañón-Valencia has been praised as one of the most promising young cellists of his generation. Watch as he returns to the Alys Stephens Center stage to take on Shostakovich’s exciting Cello Concerto No.1.

Ticket Information

Tickets – A Level – $80; B Level – $55, C Level – $42, D Level – $24, Student – $10

Tickets are valid for performance date and time only.

Related Events

See All Events